Recipes

Jamaican Style Rice and Peas

Rice and PeasI love Jerk Chicken and I love rice and peas!  The first time I ever had this was about 5 years ago and I instantly fell in love.  I mean, I’m Bengali and we eat rice all the time.  Pilaus and Biryanis are amazing, but this was a flavour sensation that just had me hooked!  I needed to know how to make it.  So thank you to my amazing friend Pauline who shared her own recipe with me.  But of course, as I do with most of my recipes, I changed it a little.  Just a little.  It’s amazing.  You’re welcome!

Ingredients

2 tbsp vegetable oil                                         4 cups water

1 onion finely chopped                                  1 chicken/ veg stock cube (crushed)

4 garlic cloves, finely chopped                     4 tbsp creamed coconut

2 cups rice                                                         2 tsp dried thyme

1 tsp salt                                                            ½ can (200g) red kidney beans

 

1.        Heat the oil in a pan.  Add the chopped onions, garlic and salt.  Sautee for a few minutes until the onions begin to soften. 

2.       Wash the rice thoroughly until the water runs clear, then add this to the pan. 

3.       Add the coconut to the pan along with the thyme and kidney beans.  I don’t wash the beans, in fact I add the juice from the can, for colour.  Chicken_Rice and Peas

4.       Add your water to the pan.  (Tip:  when I make rice I always add enough water so that when I dip my finger in, there is enough extra water for the tip of my finger to be covered before it reaches the rice underneath the surface).  That’s a bit long winded, but I don’t know how else to describe it!

5.       Give it all a good stir then put on boil.  Boil until its bubbling all over, then drop the heat down to the lowest and keep it covered, until all the rice grains are cooked through and the water has been absorbed.

This is best eaten with jerk chicken, but can be eaten with just about anything else. 

 Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

