Recipes

Aubergine Fritters

My entire life I hated aubergines.  I mean, I hated them.  It wasn’t just the taste of them, it was also the smooth rubbery look of them.  The shiny deep purple, round vegetable made me want to vomit.  Literally.  And then something happened a year ago.  I accidentally ate an aubergine fritter.  And I loved it.

Aubergine Fritter

Don’t get me wrong.  I’m not completely converted.  I still feel a little queasy if I bite into a big chunk.  So I don’t.  But these babies have changed the world for me.  I don’t know if it was the soft fluffy batter, or the thin slice of aubergine inside. But things changed.  And so here is my own special recipe. 

Ingredients

1 Large Aubergine. 

1 Cup Chickpea Flour (Beson)

¼ Cup Self-Raising Flour

¼ Tsp Salt

Oil for Frying

Water – As needed

 

1.       Slice the aubergine as thinly as you can.

2.       Mix together the two flours and salt until a batter is formed.  The batter should not be too runny, and neither should it be too thick.  It should be the right consistency to evenly coat each slice without running off. 

3.       Heat the oil on high.  When the oil is hot enough, reduce to medium.  To test if the oil is ready for frying, you should drop a tiny bit of batter in and if it sizzles and floats to the top, it is ready.

4.       Dip each aubergine slice into the batter before adding to the oil. 

5.       Let it fry for a few minutes on each side, until it is golden yellow, before removing. 

6.       Continue with all the remaining slices.

You can experiment with other spices in the batter, but I love it when it’s at its simplest.  But I do like to have this with my Green Chilli Chutney.

Enjoy! 

 

Leave a Reply

