Recipes

Green Chilli Chutney

Whether I’m having samosas, or pakoras, or just need something to use as a spicy spread, I always turn to a good green chilli chutney.   It’s a basic staple with Indian/ Asian shops that sell savouries.  Everybody makes them their own way.  The best I ever had was from a small shop in my local area.  In fact, when I was pregnant, I paid extra for the small tubs of chutney and I would drink them all day.  The shop has now closed and no amount of bribing would convince the owner to give me the recipe.  So I had to find my own. 

Green Chilli Chutney

A colleague I worked with would often bring in food and with his food he brought in fresh, homemade Green Chilli Chutney.  This is the recipe he gave me and it’s the one I always use.  Don’t be scared by the name, it isn’t the chillis that make it green, but coriander. 

It’s so simple to make and tastes amazing.  There is no exact science to the quantities of the ingredients, but I’ve given you a rough idea.  They can be changed according to taste.  Give it a go. 

Ingredients: 

A big bunch of fresh coriander leaves, including the stalk

One big red tomato

5-6 green chillis.  Use less if you want it to not be so hot.

One medium sized onion

4 cloves of garlic

½ tsp salt

Juice of half a lemon

 So all you do is roughly chop all the ingredients, put them in a blender and make magic!  Blend until it is a thick paste.  Add a few drops of water if you need to, but don’t let it get too runny.

And you’re done. 

Enjoy!   

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Green Chilli Chutney

Leave a Reply

