Recipes

Egg Replacer Cake Test

Spidey cupcakes

Since I do a lot of eggless baking, a few people have suggested I use a product called ‘No Egg’, which is an egg replacer.  I’m always a bit anxious about using synthetic products and adding chemicals where it just isn’t necessary, so I use natural alternatives like oil, applesauce, condensed milk, even tofu!  But today I decided I would give it a go.  This is what happened.

The product I went for has been tried, tested and recommended by people I know, and it’s by a company called ‘ORGRAN’.  I brought it from a health food shop, where generally things do tend to be a bit more expensive.  This was actually not too bad since for about £3 you get an equivalent of 33 eggs. This actually works out cheaper than buying 33 eggs! 

No egg box

The front of the box says it is; gluten free, wheat free, egg free, dairy free, yeast free and vegan.  ‘Tummy friendly’ they say!  The back of the box gives more instructions about how to use it.  So, to replace one egg, you mix two teaspoons of the product with 2 tablespoons of water.  What I like is that thy also give instructions on how to replace 1 egg white and 1 egg yolk. Exciting stuff!!

So I was going to test this with one of my usual cake mixes, but it just so happened that day, that Chicco spotted a Spiderman Cupcake mix in our grocery store.  I would never usually pick these up, but I thought it might be a nice thing for us to do together and I could test the egg replacer at the same time. 

The box mix is simple enough.  Spidey cupcake box

1.        Preheat the oven to 180c.

2.       The recipe requires 1 egg, so I made this up with two tablespoons of water.  I then whisked this together with the sponge mix, 3 tablespoons of water and 6g of butter. 

3.       The mix was placed into the cupcake cases and baked for 12-15 mins.  I wasn’t impressed by the plain white cupcake cases.  Patterned cases or just some colour would have been much more appealing for kids.   

4.       When the cakes are cooled, I made up a little icing sugar by mixing a couple of teaspoons of water into the icing sugar and spread this on top of the cakes.  I then topped this with the Spiderman wafers.       

And the taste test?  Chicco loved them.  I thought they were pretty good too. My biggest concern was that there would be an odd aftertaste.  But I couldn’t taste anything.  In fact, when baking with baking powder and baking soda as replacements, you always get a weird soda like taste that I hate.  This didn’t have that.  What it was lacking though was that eggy type taste you get when you use real eggs, but I guess you can’t have everything.

Texture wise I was impressed.  For each cupcake I only used a teaspoon of the mixture and the cake still rose quite nicely.  They weren’t moist, but they were airy and spongey inside.      

I would definitely use this again and now I can see why people have been recommending this for so long. 

 

Leave a Reply

