Kids

Our Eczema Journey!

My son has eczema.  He’s had it since he was only three months old.  He’s three years old now and after lots of trial and error, I’ve finally found a way to bring it under control.

Now I should probably insert a disclaimer here.  I’m not a medical professional.  I’m just a mum who’s done a lot of research and taken lots of advice, and everything I know and whatever I’m sharing comes from my experience. From one parent to another.

When he was just three months old, he developed a mild rash on his left cheek.  The GP dismissed it as dry skin and prescribed Aqueous Cream.  No matter how much I moisturised it, it seemed to just get worse.  It became itchier and redder and the rash became larger.  It spread to both cheeks, his forehead, the crease under his earlobe and eventually the crease of his elbows.

It was heart breaking to see my tiny baby suffer like that.  I tried so many of my own products from hours of research on the internet and advice from anyone who had experienced the same.  I tried Aloe Vera gel, Vaseline and even a product called ‘Magic cream’.  (Btw – Magic Cream is a product I would NEVER recommend.  I was desperate and ready to try anything.  It cleared up his eczema but thinned his skin out so much that it just came back with a vengeance.)

When Chicco was about 6 months old, he had a routine appointment with a paediatrician at the hospital.  The paediatric consultant looked at my sons face and immediately diagnosed it as eczema with an angry flare up.  He was shocked that I was using Aqueous Cream on his skin.  He advised that this should never be used as a moisturiser, especially not on eczema.  He said it contains a chemical that actually dries out the skin and should only be used as a soap and washed off completely.

I was prescribed four things to treat and control his eczema.

20160406_211724 [31944]

Dioderm (0.1% Hydrocortisone Cream)

A very mild steroid to only be used on the inflamed skin.  At first I was worried about using this, but really it’s such a small percentage of steroid, used very thinly that it shouldn’t damage his skin.

Zerocream Emollient

A moisturiser for his sensitive areas.  Basically where he has eczema.  I was told to moisturiser his skin with this regularly to ensure it doesn’t dry out at all.  This is a big container so I decant it into an old empty face cream container to carry around with me.  It looks exactly like aqueous cream, but has a thicker, oiler consistency.  Zerocream is supposed to be left on the skin and does not contain sodium lauryl sulfate (SLS), which is the harmful ingredient in aqueous cream.    

Aveeno oil

A bath oil that I use as an alternative to soap.  It contains Colloidal Oatmeal that helps calm his skin.  As a side note, the paediatric consultant advised me not to bathe Chicco every day as this would dry out his skin too much.  I was told to bath him three or four times a week.

Aveeno Cream

A moisturising cream to be used all over his body after a bath and every night before he goes to bed.  Again, the active ingredient is Colloidal Oatmeal, which prevents dryness and helps calm sensitive skin.

Once Chicco’s inflammation was treated, I managed his eczema by hydrating, hydrating and hydrating.  I’m not saying that this is the cure to eczema, but what I am saying is that these four products have worked wonders for my son.  His eczema hasn’t flared up in over a year.  He’s a happy boy and I’m a happy mum!

2 thoughts on “Our Eczema Journey!

Leave a Reply

